National Council for Palliative Care Awards 2017 

November 28, 2016

The National Council for Palliative Care Awards 2017 are open for nominations. Now in their second year, they are the only health and social care awards that are dedicated to recognising exceptional people and services that have made a real difference through outstanding care, support and commitment to end of life care in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

There are four categories in the National Council for Palliative Care Awards 2017:

  • Bereavement Project of the Year – Recognising innovative projects supporting people during bereavement.
  • Dying Matters Awareness Initiative of the Year – Recognising events and activities that raise awareness of the importance of talking about dying, death and bereavement.
  • End of Life Care Champion(s) of the Year, sponsored by The Royal College of Nursing – Recognising the contribution to end of life care from an individual or team at a local or national level.
  • Effective Coordination of Care Award – Recognising effective person-centred coordination of end of life care.

Claire Henry, Chief Executive of the NCPC, said, 'Last year, we were amazed by the range and number of entries, and we’re confident that this year will also bring an amazing selection of entries. There’s a lot of great work going on in end of life care, and these awards celebrate that. We’re looking for entries from hospitals, hospices, social care teams, volunteers – from anybody who is making a difference to end of life care.'

Last year’s winners included a week-long festival about end of life planning organised by three volunteers in Todmorden, a 24-hour telephone rapid response system in Essex, a network of bereavement help points in Sutton Coldfield and a collaborative model of care for people dying at home.

Claire continued, 'Last year’s winners were incredibly diverse, but if there’s one thing they had in common it’s a passion for helping people. We had so many strong entries last year it was hard to choose a shortlist, let alone winners, but that in itself is proof of the amazing work going on.'

Nominations close on 16th December. Further information about the awards, including criteria for each category and an entry form are available on the NCPC website.

The National Council for Palliative Care Awards 2017 Ceremony will take place on 22nd February at the House of Lords.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Caring for Care Workers. Donate to The Care Workers’ Charity and make a difference Donate